The Cayman Trench


In 2005, from a Caribbean trip the year before, this was my business idea for a new seafood place in Glasgow. Here was my idea;

Where did I get my influences for this business plan? Well, a certain trip to the Caribbean, where I found myself caught up in Hurricane Ivan and I guess they say the rest is history. I would still like to pursue this plan in the near future. I had own domain names for years before shelving to open SmoothBoy’s Deli . The vision was clear for me, a Caribbean/ New England style seafood joint in the UK with a clean fresh look where folks could drop by for the ‘best seafood in the world’ here off the coast of Scotland. Bright white walls with minimal shabby-chic nautical theme including a large false taxidermy Marlin or Sailfish. 

 

 

An open hatch kitchen would serve these fantastic dishes. A rum shack bar serving cocktails, buckets of beer or fizz to wash down the treasures of the sea. Modern wooden benches would complete a rustic but functional environment similar to seen in the States/Caribbean. No bookings, just come as you are. Seasonal specials/events/functions taking in seafood celebration, cocktail events, Pirates Week and other Caribbean events.


 

 

Well what do you think? As always feel free to give me feedback. I had in mind the unit that was Cafe Mao(above) in the Merchants City, Glasgow. Like many entrepreneurs, I’ve had the vision in my head for awhile and know quite clearly how it will look. Budget for this location will be high, maybe need to crowd-fund, please comment below or mail me:

ewan_henderson@hotmail.com

Thanks for reading

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Cutting-Room Floor? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bumps On The Road

80's kid travel stories

Rose's Quest for the Best

All food things come to those who eat

slowfoodwestscotland

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Professor Lesley Sawers

Thoughts on Leadership, Economy, Women in Business

Whiskymeister's Blog

WHISKY WITH A VIEW - An Ongoing Quest

McGowan on Licensing: Blawg

Commentary and analysis of Scottish licensing and gambling law and industry news

Boozed + Infused

Infusing liqueurs at home with inspiring and seasonal ingredients

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

frugalfeeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

A Buck for Burns

Just another WordPress.com weblog

GourmetAlba's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog